Monday, September 25, 2023

The Notorious B.I.G.’S Legacy To Be Celebrated With ‘Life After Death’ 25th Anniversary Box Set

According to Complex, a year long campaign “The Sky’s the Limit” has been launched to celebrate and sustain the legacy of late Hip Hop star, Notorious B.I.G. Beginning March 25, 2022, activations will include out-of-home advertising, online events, the release of an enhanced digital version of his songs, 4k upgrades of his entire video catalog delivered to his official YouTube channel.

As part of the festivities, his epic second album, the diamond-certified GRAMMY®-nominated double-disc opus, Life After Death, will be released as a 25th Anniversary Super Deluxe Box Set on June 10, 2022. Collectors will be treated with a special commemorative booklet that features rare photos from the cover shoot and liner notes from music writer and editor Sheldon Pearce, as well as contributions from a number of people who were involved with Life After Death’s initial 1997 release.

Christopher Wallace, a.k.a Biggie Smalls, a.k.a. the Notorious B.I.G., was shot to death at a stoplight in Los Angeles. The murder was thought to be the culmination of a feud between rap music artists from the East and West coasts. Just six months earlier at that time, rapper Tupac Shakur was killed when he was shot while in his car in a drive-by shooting in Las Vegas. Ironically, Wallace’s death came only weeks before his new album, titled Life After Death, was scheduled to be released.

Wallace was the most prominent East Coast practictioner of “gangsta rap.” His 1994 record Ready to Die sold millions. That same year, Shakur, the West Coast’s leading rapper, was shot several times in a robbery at a recording studio in New York. Shakur claimed that Wallace was partially responsible and later taunted Wallace on one of his songs. He claimed to have slept with Wallace’s ex-wife, singer Faith Evans, and insulted the overweight rapper for his ample girth.

Below, see a full tracklist breakdown (as well as info on the included 12-inch entries) for the box set. Meanwhile, the Life After Death (2022 Remaster) 3-LP Silver Vinyl edition will launch as a Target exclusive this year for $59.98. For more info on the Super Deluxe, click here.

Life After Death

A1. “Life After Death”
A2. “Somebody’s Gotta Die”
A3. “Hypnotize”
A4. “Kick In The Door”

B1. “Fuck You Tonight
B2. “Last Day”
B3. “I Love The Dough”
B4. “What’s Beef?’

C1. “B.I.G. Interlude”
C2. “Mo Money Mo Problems”
C3. “N****s Bleed”
C4. “I Got a Story To Tell”

D1. “Notorious Thugs”
D2. “Miss U”
D3. “Another”
D4. “Going Back To Cali”

E1. “Ten Crack Commandments”
E2. “Playa Hater”
E3. “Nasty Boy”
E4. “Sky’s The Limit”

F1. “The World Is Filled…”
F2. “My Downfall”
F3. “Long Kiss Goodnight”
F4. “You’re Nobody (Til Somebody Kills You)”

“Hypnotized” 12”
A1. “Hypnotize (Radio Mix)”
A2. “Hypnotize (Instrumental)”

B1. “Hypnotize (Club Mix)”

“Mo Money Mo Problems” 12”

A1. “Mo Money Mo Problems (Radio Mix)”
A2. “Mo Money Mo Problems (Instrumental)”

B1. “Mo Money Mo Problems (Album Version)”
B2. “Fuck You Tonight”

“Sky’s The Limit” 2×12”

A1. “Sky’s The Limit (Radio Edit)”
A2. “Kick In The Door (Radio Edit)”

B1. “Going Back To Cali (Radio Edit)”
B2. “Sky’s The Limit (Instrumental)”

C1. “Kick In The Door (Club Mix)”
C2. “Going Back To Cali (Club Mix)”

D1. “Kick In The Door (Instrumental)”
D2. “Going Back To Cali (Instrumental)”

“Nasty Boy” 12”

A1. Nasty Boy (Radio Edit)
A2. Nasty Boy (Instrumental)

B1. Nasty Boy (Album Version)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles